Notre Dame hockey to join Big Ten conference starting in 2017-18 season

SOUTH BEND, Ind. (AP) — Notre Dame will join the Big Ten as a hockey-only member beginning with the 2017-18 season.

The conference announced the addition Wednesday, giving the fledgling league seven teams.

Arizona State is a possibility for an eighth. The Pac-12 member needs a conference for its upstart program.

Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Ohio State, Penn State and Wisconsin have played as a six-team league for three years. Minnesota reached the national championship game in 2014, but the Big Ten failed to land an at-large bid to either of the last two NCAA tournaments.

Notre Dame has played in the Hockey East conference for three seasons. The Fighting Irish compete in the Atlantic Coast Conference in other sports.

Related posts

Peyton Manning retires after record-breaking career with Denver Broncos and Indianapolis Colts

95.3 MNC

DeShone Kizer scores three times as Notre Dame nails Nevada 39-10

Tom Franklin

Former Notre Dame running back Gregory Bryant declared brain dead day after shooting

95.3 MNC