Travel could be slippery throughout Michiana on Wednesday

0
139
(Photo supplied/National Weather Service of Northern Indiana)

The morning commute on Wednesday, Feb. 20, could be slippery.

The U.S. National Weather Service of Northern Indiana warns that another wintry mix will head into the area late Tuesday night.

Snow will spread from south to north from 2 a.m. until 6 a.m. Wednesday morning, then change to freezing rain everywhere between 6 a.m. and 7 a.m.

A light glaze of ice is possible throughout northern Indiana.

A Winter Weather Advisory is in effect from 4 a.m. on Wednesday, Feb. 20 until 12 p.m.

Drivers should use caution and expect slick and snow-covered roads.

WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 4 AM EST /3 AM CST/ TO
NOON EST /11 AM CST/ WEDNESDAY...

* WHAT...Mixed precipitation expected. Precipitation will likely
  begin as snow and then change over to light freezing rain. Total
  snow accumulations of a half inch to two inches expected. Ice
  accumulations of a light glaze to a tenth of an inch expected.

* WHERE...Portions of northern Indiana.

* WHEN...From 4 AM EST /3 AM CST/ to noon EST /11 AM CST/
  Wednesday.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS...Plan on slippery road conditions. The
  hazardous conditions will impact the morning commute.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A Winter Weather Advisory means that periods of snow, sleet or
freezing rain will cause travel difficulties. Expect slippery
roads and limited visibilities, and use caution while driving.

Your ABC 57 First Warning Neighborhood Weather Center Forecast

Wednesday: Snow to sleet to freezing rain to rain, high of 38.

Thursday: Partly cloudy, breezy, high of 36.

Friday: Mostly sunny, high of 42.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here