Nominations accepted for next Indiana state poet laureate

(Public Domain)

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Indiana is looking for its next state poet laureate.

The Indiana Arts Commission says it’s accepting nominations for the post, which carries a two-year term. The commission says the Indiana Poet Laureate’s duties include making presentations at education events and advancing appreciation of poetry statewide.

The current Indiana Poet Laureate is George Kalamaras. He says Indiana has a “remarkable poetry community.”

The commission says it will take nominations by email only by 4:30 p.m. ET on Sept. 1. Nominations should include a one-page cover letter and resume. A committee will review the nominations this fall.

Indiana created the poet laureate program in 2005. Poet laureates since then include Joyce Brinkman, Norbert Krapf and Karen Kovacik.

Related posts

New Indiana law requires five-year tenure reviews of professors

Joe Ulery/Indiana News Service

PHM School Board candidate may appeal ballot/nickname flap

Jon Zimney

People, businesses dealing with Microsoft “Crowdstrike” meltdown

Jon Zimney