Excessive Heat Warning remains in place through Saturday night

0
39
(Photo supplied/ABC 57)

The extreme heat tops out Friday, July 19, and Saturday, July 20, with heat indices ranging from 105 to 110 degrees.

EXCESSIVE HEAT WARNING REMAINS IN EFFECT FROM 8 AM EDT /7 AM
CDT/ THIS MORNING TO 8 PM EDT /7 PM CDT/ SATURDAY...

HAZARDOUS WEATHER...

 * High temperatures on Friday and Saturday will reach well into
   the 90s, with peak afternoon heat indices between 100 and 110
   degrees. There will be little relief from the extreme heat at
   night.

IMPACTS...

 * Heat illnesses are likely for those spending prolonged
   periods outside or in non-air conditioned environments.

 * Prolonged heat is most dangerous for young children and the
   elderly.

 * Car interiors can reach lethal temperatures in minutes.

 * Direct sun on pets and other animals will accentuate chances
   for heat illnesses.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

An Excessive Heat Warning means that a prolonged period of
dangerously hot temperatures will occur. The combination of hot
temperatures and high humidity will combine to create a dangerous
situation in which heat illnesses are likely. Drink plenty of
fluids...stay in an air-conditioned room...stay out of the sun...
and check up on relatives and neighbors. Make sure pets and other
animals have a cool environment with water available.

A cold front brings relief on Sunday, along with showers and thunderstorms.

Next week is gorgeous with plenty of sunshine and temperatures remaining slightly below average.

Your ABC 57 First Warning Neighborhood Weather Center Forecast:

Friday: Extreme heat, mostly sunny, high of 96.

Friday Night: Mostly clear, low of 78.

Saturday: Extreme heat, partly cloudy, high of 96.

Sunday: Showers & storms, high of 84.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here