Four Elkhart County officers awarded Traffic Safety All-Star Award

(Photo supplied/Elkhart Truth)

Four Elkhart County Sheriff’s Officers have received the state’s first-ever Traffic Safety All-Star Award.

To be named a Traffic Safety All-Star, the officer must have made at least 20 OWI arrests during the previous year and participated in one of the state’s targeted enforcement campaigns, like Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over.

The Indiana Criminal Justice Institute created the award to recognize officers who are going above and beyond to keep roads and drivers safe by working to combat impaired driving.

The four Elkhart officers who received this year’s award are as follows:

  • Cpl. Steve Jastrzembski – 21 OWI arrests
  • Officer Jamie Sterling – 30 OWI arrests
  • Officer Alex Kelly – 30 OWI arrests
  • Officer James Garris – 25 OWI arrests

In total, 66 Indiana officers received the award, and had a combined total of more than 3,000 OWI arrests in 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here