Voting precincts consolidated in St. Joseph County, but voting sites won't change

The St. Joseph County commissioners voted to consolidate 54 voting precincts on Tuesday, Sept. 15, but voting sites won’t change.

The vote came after about two weeks of debate between Republicans and Democrats in the county after Republican commissioner Deb Fleming proposed closing 50 voting sites (there are 159 in St. Joseph County) in an effort to save about $150,000, according to the South Bend Tribune.

Democrats argued that closing voting sites would disenfranchise elderly, minority and low-income voters in the 2016 presidential election.

The final plan approved by commissioners Tuesday consolidates 54 voting precincts into 27 but does not change voting sites. The only difference voters will see is that they have a different precinct number.

Read more about the debate leading up to Tuesday’s vote in the full story from the South Bend Tribune.

Related posts

Indiana governor candidates set to take debate stage once again Monday night

Associated Press

Funeral services took place Saturday for slain IU student Hannah Wilson

95.3 MNC

Good news on COVID-19 front in Elkhart County

Jon Zimney