Warsaw, Culver among 2016 Stellar Community finalists


By: Associated Press

(Public Domain)

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — The cities of Rushville, Shelbyville and Warsaw are among the six communities named as finalists to become Indiana’s 2016 Stellar Communities.

The office of Lt. Gov. Eric Holcomb said Tuesday those three cities are the finalists in Division 1. The finalists in Division 2 with populations under 6,000 are the former state capital of Corydon, Union City in Randolph County and the Marshall County town of Culver.

The Stellar Communities program supports community planning and development initiatives with funding from the Indiana Department of Transportation and other state agencies.

Ten communities submitted proposals for the program this year.

Last year’s Stellar Communities were Crawfordsville and North Liberty. The other previous winners were North Vernon, Greencastle, Princeton, Delphi, Richmond, Bedford, Huntingburg and Wabash.