Michiana counties added to Indiana’s On My Way Pre-K program


15 additional counties are now eligible to take part in Indiana’s On My Way Pre-K program, and four local counties are on that list.

Elkhart, Kosciusko, Marshall, and St. Joseph Counties were added to the program, which helps make prekindergarten available to 4-year-olds in low-income families in participating counties. The program officially launches in these counties for the 2018-2019 school year. It’s possible an early limited program could start in January 2018.

Allen, Jackson, Lake, Marion, and Vanderburgh counties were announced as the first counties in the program in 2015. New Republican Governor Eric Holcomb made preschool for low income children a priority during his first few months in office.

The Indiana General Assembly agreed to expand the program earlier this year.

For more information on the On My Way Pre-K program, click here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here