City of Elkhart gearing up for fall leaf pick-up

0
546
("Fall Leaves" by Viri G, C.C. BY-ND 2.0)

Maintenance crews in Elkhart are getting ready for the first round of leaf pickup for the fall.

The program will begin Monday, Oct. 22 and end on Friday, Dec. 14, weather permitting.

The first zone will be the neighborhoods north of the St. Joseph River and west of Johnson Street, and will be serviced Oct. 22 through 26, and again in mid-November.

Homeowners should rake the leaves to the curb, in a separate pile from brush and limbs.

A complete schedule of leaf pickup is listed below:

WHAT: Zone A fall leaf pickup

WHEN: Monday, October 22 through Friday, October 26 and Monday, November 19 through Friday, November 23

WHERE: Neighborhoods north of the St. Joseph River and west of Johnson Street


WHAT: Zone B fall leaf pickup

WHEN: Monday, October 29 through Friday, November 2 and Monday, November 26 through Friday, November 30

WHERE: Neighborhoods north of the St. Joseph River and east of Johnson Street


WHAT: Zone C fall leaf pickup

WHEN: Monday, November 5 through Friday, November 9 and Monday, December 3 through Friday, December 7

WHERE: Neighborhoods south of the St. Joseph River and east of Third/Main Street


WHAT: Zone D fall leaf pickup

WHEN: Monday, November 12 through Friday, November 16 and Monday, December 10 through Friday, December 14

WHERE: Neighborhoods south of the St. Joseph River and west of Third/Main Street

As the dates approach, below are some helpful tips for residents:

  1. Leaves should be placed in a separate pile from brush and limbs. Leaf machines are designed to pick up leaves only. Sticks will clog the machines, causing delays.
  2. City ordinance states that citizens should rake their leaves to the curb, but not extending into the street, in accordance with the posted pickup schedule. Leaves can easily clog the storm sewer grates and may cause flooding.
  3. Brush and limbs should also be stacked on the curb, but not extending into the street, the day before your trash is scheduled to be picked up.

 

 

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here