Elkhart County residents have several decisions to make on Election Day

Elkhart County residents will have a number of State House and Senate seats to vote for.

All seats in Elkhart County have a Republican as the incumbent. In District 21 Tim Wesco faces Democrat challenger Ryan Liedtky.

In District 22 Curt Nisly, who is in his third term, faces Kelly Thompson.

District 48 pits Doug Miller with registered nurse Aaron Mishler; and in District 49, Incumbent Christy Stutzman faces Goshen school board member Amanda Qualls.

The Senate races include a District 12 matchup between incumbent Blake Doriot and Democrat Charles Mumaw and a District 9 race between Republican Ryan Mishler and Democrat Teacher and Army Vet Brandon Cavanaugh. Mishler has held District 9 uncontested for the last 12 years.

Elkhart County has two seats up for grabs in the Commissioners race.

In District 3 Republican Suzie Weirick is the incumbent. First elected in 2016, she faces Democrat challenger Susan Corwin-Cripe, a family law attorney from Wakarusa.

The incumbent in District 2 was defeated in the primary by former Elkhart County Sheriff Brad Rogers, leaving the race between him and Democrat Donald Brown. Brown is an Army vet and Vice President of the Elkhart County NAACP.

These races will determine who gets to help decide the future of Elkhart County’s Court system as commissioners look to move and consolidate them in the near future.

The Elkhart County Council has all three of its at-large seats to fill.

Republicans Thomas Stump and Tina Wenger are the two incumbents looking for re-election. Adam Bujalski is the only other Republican in the race. Democrat options include Susie Meeks-Wade, Paul Steury and Oxana Werbiansky.

Related posts

Three arrested on marijuana, gun charges in Marshall County

Tom Franklin

Sheriff: Body of Indiana man missing since May found in pond

95.3 MNC

Indiana cash reserves grow to $2.1 billion with spending cuts

95.3 MNC

Leave a Comment