Get set for sub-zero wind chills for the entire week ahead

0
393
(Photo supplied/ABC 57)

(Maci Tetrick/ABC 57 Meteorologist) On this Sunday, Feb. 7, the wind-chill feels like temperatures in the negative teens.

Double up on layers and make sure to cover as much of your skin as possible. Take breaks indoors when you start to feel too cold.

Temperatures only warm to 12 degrees by Sunday afternoon, but will feel even cooler than that with wind chill. These cold temperatures are a perfect excuse to stay in and watch the big game tonight.

While there are a few more flurries early this morning, especially near Lake Michigan, most of today will be cloudy but quiet.

Tonight there are additional chances for a few light snow showers or flurries, but there should be little new accumulation for your Monday morning drive.

Monday is slightly warmer with a high around 18.

The next round of snow is Monday night into Tuesday morning – we’ll pick up 1-2” for most of Michiana, with slightly higher totals near Lake Michigan. The Tuesday morning commute could be a bit messy because of this. Unfortunately, there is still no sign of a warm up in the 10 day forecast, as daytime highs stay below normal.

WIND CHILL ADVISORY REMAINS IN EFFECT UNTIL 1 PM EST THIS AFTERNOON

  • WHAT…Very cold wind chills expected. Wind chills as low as
    20 below zero.
  • WHERE…Portions of northern Indiana.
  • WHEN…From 3 AM EST /2 AM CST/ to 1 PM EST /noon CST/ Sunday.
  • IMPACTS…The cold wind chills could cause frostbite on
    exposed skin in as little as 30 minutes.

Your ABC 57 First Warning Neighborhood Weather Center Forecast:

Today: Few AM snow showers. Cloudy and cold. High 12.

Tonight: Light snow showers. Low 4.

Monday: Cloudy and cold. PM snow. High 18.

Tuesday: AM snow showers. Mostly cloudy. High 20.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here