College Football HOF Nominees: Bavaro, Lyght, Randle El

Notre Dame wide receiver Chase Claypool (83) catches a pass while Duke cornerback Leonard Johnson (33) defends during the first half of an NCAA college football game in Durham, N.C., Saturday, Nov. 9, 2019. (AP Photo/Gerry Broome)

The National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame announced today the names on the 2022 ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame, including 78 players and seven coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and 99 players and 33 coaches from the divisional ranks.

Among the list of players are three names that are familiar to our area:

Mark Bavaro, Notre Dame-Tight End: 1984 First Team All-American. One of only five tight ends in Notre Dame annals to lead the team in both receptions (32) and receiving yards (395) in the same season (1984) Bavaro ended his career ranked fourth all-time in career receptions (55) and receiving yards (771) by a tight end.

Todd Lyght, Notre Dame-Defensive Back: Two-time First Team All-American, earning unanimous honors in 1989 and consensus laurels in 1990. Led Irish to 1988 National Championship and perfect 12-0 season as well as national title game appearance in 1991 Orange Bowl…Thorpe Award finalist who posted 11 career interceptions.

Antwaan Randle El, Indiana-Quarterback: 2001 First Team All-American. First player in FBS history to pass for 6,000 yards and rush for 3,000 yards in career. Randle El rushed for more yards than any QB in FBS history upon conclusion of career.

The ballot was emailed Wednesday to the more than 12,000 members and current Hall of Famers whose votes will be tabulated and submitted to the National Football Foundation Honors Courts, which will deliberate and select the class of 2022 for enshrinement.

The 2022 class will be officially inducted during the 64th National Football Foundation’s Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, 2022, and permanently immortalized at the Chick-fil-A College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.
They will also be honored at their respective schools with a Hall of Fame On-Campus Salute, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the 2022 season.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here