Winter Weather Advisory in effect for Michiana Friday into Saturday

1
1315
(Photo supplied/ABC 57)

Good news: We’re in the double digits once again Friday. Bad news: It’s not hanging out for long and more snow is in the forecast. A Winter Weather Advisory is in effect from 2 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 29 until 4 a.m. on Saturday.

The National Weather Service reports 2 to 4 inches of snow could fall throughout the listening area. That’ll end Saturday morning, but ABC 57 Meteorologist Tom Coomes says more lake effect snow will develop again.

From Saturday until Sunday night, expect an additional 3 to 6 inches of snow due to lake effect, with higher amounts closer to the lake as usual. The snow should be done in time for New Years Eve celebrations, but it’s going to be bitterly cold once again, with temperatures in the single digits and sub-zero wind chills.

Here’s the outlook from ABC 57’s Emily Kennedy as of Friday morning.

From the National Weather Service of Northern Indiana:

WINTER WEATHER ADVISORY IN EFFECT FROM 2 PM EST /1 PM CST/
THIS AFTERNOON TO 4 AM EST /3 AM CST/ SATURDAY...

* WHAT...Snow expected. Plan on slippery road conditions,
  including during the evening commute. Total snow accumulations
  of 2 to 4 inches are expected.

* WHERE...Portions of northern Indiana, southwest Michigan and
  northwest Ohio.

* WHEN...From 2 PM EST /1 PM CST/ this afternoon to 4 AM EST /3
  AM CST/ Saturday.

* ADDITIONAL DETAILS...Be prepared for reduced visibilities at
  times.

PRECAUTIONARY/PREPAREDNESS ACTIONS...

A Winter Weather Advisory for snow means periods of snow will
cause primarily travel difficulties. Be prepared for snow covered
roads and limited visibilities, and use caution while driving.
The latest road conditions for the state you are calling from can
be obtained by calling 5 1 1.

1 COMMENT

  1. I have every reason to believe that Emily Kennedy is a good meteorologist. The problem, as I experience on 95.3 is that the reports are spoken at such a rapid pace I miss much of it. Please slow down to a more normal, understandable pace.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here